Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Editors' Message

Welcome to the 64th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Hematology. This year marks the second year of the Annual Meeting as a hybrid meeting, with many attendees thankful to reconnect in person with colleagues from all over the world and others happy to attend virtually. Whichever option you have chosen, you will hear the many striking scientific and clinical advances in hematology over the past year and fi nd a remarkable wealth of educational content covering all major areas within both classical and malignant hematology. To this end, we have developed the Hematology ASH Education Program to be your primary and indispensable resource. Your authors, with help from our invaluable peer reviewers and guidance from us, have worked to develop concise, readable, and informative articles fi lled with useful tables and fi gures and headlined by a visual abstract. All of the articles either are based directly on a talk given by the author at the meeting’s education program (using a case-based format) or take the form of an evidence-based minireview exploring the current data for some of the most challenging questions in modern hematology practice.

This year marks the first year of a new team of Hematology editors, and we are thrilled to lead this venerable, over-5-decade-old ASH publication for the next 3 years. Of course, Hematology is possible only thanks to the state-of-the-art education program developed this year by Education Program Co-Chairs Dr. David Garcia and Dr. Olatoyosi Odenike, as well as the tireless efforts of ASH staff, including Sheehan Misko, Erin Roberts, Jeremiah Murphy, Brian Cannon, Glenn Landis, and Kenneth April. We are so thankful for all their efforts.

Happy reading, from your Hematology editors!


Hanny Al-Samkari, MD, Executive Editor, is an assistant professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and practices adult classical hematology at the Massachusetts General Hospital, where he directs the Massachusetts General Hospital Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia Center of Excellence. His research focuses on the development of novel therapeutics in hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia, platelet disorders, and congenital red cell disorders.

Alison R. Walker, MD, MPH, MBA, Deputy Editor, is a professor of oncologic sciences at the University of South Florida and a member of the Department of Malignant Hematology at H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute, where she serves as a physician practice advisor to the Moffitt Medical Group. Dr. Walker’s clinical and research interests are in the care of patients with myeloid malignancies, specifically acute myeloid leukemia and myelodysplastic syndromes.

Rakhi P. Naik, MD, MHS, Deputy Editor, is an associate professor of medicine at Johns Hopkins University, where she serves as clinical director of the Division of Hematology and associate program director for the Hematology Fellowship Track. Dr. Naik’s research focuses on sickle cell disease, sickle cell trait, and medical education innovation.

Alex F. Herrera, MD, Deputy Editor, is an associate professor in the Department of Hematology and Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation at City of Hope in Duarte, California. His clinical and research interests center on immunotherapy and hematopoietic stem cell transplantation in patients with Hodgkin or non-Hodgkin lymphomas. He also studies biomarkers of response and outcome in patients with lymphoma treated with immunotherapies or hematopoietic stem cell transplantation with the goal of designing biomarker-based clinical trials to improve outcomes and personalize lymphoma treatment.

Ang Li, MD, MS, Special Section Editor, is an assistant professor at Baylor College of Medicine, a member of the Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center, and a Cancer Prevention & Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) Scholar. Clinically, he specializes in the care of patients with thrombotic and bleeding disorders. As a physician-scientist, he focuses on the epidemiology, prevention, and treatment of venous thromboembolism and thrombotic microangiopathy in association with cancer treatment and hematopoietic cell transplantation.

Committee on Educational Affairs

Jennifer R. Brown, MD, PhD (‘23) (Chair)
Anjali Advani, MD (‘23) (Vice Chair)
Marc J. Braunstein, MD, PhD (‘25)
Nicholas R. Burwick, MD (‘25)
Shruti Chaturvedi, MBBS, MS (‘25)
Faith Davies, MD (‘24)
Amy E. DeZern, MD (‘26)
James M. Foran, MD (‘22)
Nobuko Hijiya, MD (‘24)
Margaret Kasner, MD (‘26)
Kah Poh (Melissa) Loh, MD (‘23)
Martha P. Mims, MD, PhD (‘23)
Casey L. O’Connell, MD (‘23)
Heather A. O’Leary, PhD (‘23)
Nicki Panoskaltsis, MD, PhD (‘25)

Ex Officio Members

Jane N. Winter, MD (‘22) – President
Robert A. Brodsky, MD (‘23) – President-Elect
Mohandas Narla, DSc (‘24) – Vice President


Hanny Al-Samkari, MD (‘24) – Executive Editor, Hematology ASH Education Program
Jessica Altman, MD (‘21) – Senior Executive Editor, ASH-SAP 8
Laura M. De Castro, MD (‘23) – Member, Committee on Practice
Cynthia E. Dunbar, MD (‘24) – Secretary
David Garcia, MD (‘22) – 2022 Education Program Co-Chair
Molly Weidner Mandernach, MD, MPH (‘22) – Junior Executive Editor, ASH-SAP 8
Olatoyosi Odenike, MD (‘22) – 2022 Education Program Co-Chair
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal