Skip to Main Content


Skip Nav Destination

ASH Announces New 2017 Executive Committee Members, and more

December 30, 2021

ASH Announces New 2017 Executive Committee Members

On October 26, the American Society of Hematology (ASH) announced the election of four new members to its Executive Committee, the governing body of the organization, for terms beginning after the 2016 ASH Annual Meeting December 3-6 in San Diego, CA:

  • Roy L. Silverstein, MD, will serve as vice president.
  • Robert Brodsky, MD, will serve as secretary.
  • John C. Byrd, MD, and Cynthia Dunbar, MD, will each serve as councillor.

Learn more about the newly elected members below.

Roy L. Silverstein, MD, is professor and chairman of medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) Division of Hematology and Oncology, senior investigator at the Blood Research Institute, BloodCenter of Wisconsin, and associate director at MCW Cancer Center. Dr. Silverstein's fields of interest include clinical non-malignant hematology as well as translational research on the molecular, cellular, and genetic causes of thrombosis, angiogenesis, and atherosclerosis. He has published more than 200 articles, which include papers in Blood, Nature Medicine, Journal of Clinical Investigation, and Journal of Experimental Medicine. Among other honors, he is a recipient of the New York Weill Cornell Medical Center Alumni Council Distinguished Achievement Award. He has been an ASH member since 1985 and most recently served as chair of the editor-in-chief search committees for Blood Advances and ASH Clinical News; he is also a former editor-in-chief of The Hematologist.

Secretary BrodskyRobert Brodsky, MD, is a professor of medicine and oncology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Dr. Brodsky also serves as the director of the Division of Hematology and the T32 Training Program. He is the Johns Hopkins Family Professor of Oncology Research and a member of the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center. His research interests include high-dose cyclophosphamide, aplastic anemia, and paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria. He has been recognized with numerous honors. In 2013, he received the Clinical Research Achievement Award from the Clinical Research Forum for the second most important clinical research paper in medicine. He was named a Clinical Research Scholar of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of America in 2000 and a fellow of the American College of Physicians in 2004. He has been an ASH member since 1992 and is serving as a Scientific Program Co-Chair for this year's annual meeting.

John ByrdJohn C. Byrd, MD, is a professor of medicine, pharmaceutics, and veterinary bioscience and the director of the Division of Hematology at the Ohio State University (OSU) in Columbus. He is also co-leader of the Leukemia Research Program at OSU's Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Byrd is internationally recognized for his translational research focused on the development of targeted, immune-based treatments for leukemia. A few of his honors include Distinguished University Professor Award from OSU, the American Society of Hematology William Dameshek Prize, and the American Association for Cancer Research Joseph H. Burchenal Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research. He has been involved in ASH throughout his career, serving as faculty and co-director of the ASH Clinical Research Training Institute, an associate editor of Blood and as a contributing editor of The Hematologist.

Cynthia DunbarCynthia Dunbar, MD, is the section head and senior investigator for the Hematology Branch, Division of Intramural Research at the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute of the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Dunbar's research group investigates the mechanisms by which stem cells develop and differentiate into other cell types, particularly in relation to hematopoiesis, which governs the formation of new blood cells. She has received numerous awards for teaching, mentorship, and research, including the NIH Clinical Center Distinguished Clinical Teacher Award, the John Decker Memorial Lectureship, and the Brigham and Women's Hospital Moloney Award and Lectureship. She has been an ASH member since 1988 and serves as co-chair of the Bridge Grant Program Study Section. She is a former editor-in-chief of Blood.

Twenty-one junior faculty took part in the inaugural ASH Medical Educators Institute, a hematology training program, in late September at ASH Headquarters in Washington, DC.

Back row (L to R): Christi Hayes, MD; Gloria Lim, MD, MSc; Jennie Law, MD; Ming Lim, MBBChir; Karen Hook, MD; Fiona Miall, MD; Adam Giermasz, MD, PhD; Satish Shanbhag, MBBS, MPH; Ida Wong-Sefidan, MD; Erin Reid, MD, MS; Scott Gitlin, MD; Richard Tower, MD, MS; Sanjay Mohan, MD, MSCI; Kenneth Zuckerman, MD; and Leslie Ellis, MD, MHPEd.

Second row (L to R): Rebecca Karp-Leaf, MD; Michelle-Zeller, HMSc, MD, MHPE; Catherine McGuinn, MD; Elizabeth Roman, MD; Ariela Marshall, MD; Molly Mandernach, MD, MPH; Allison Carilli, MD; Katherine Walsh, MD; Mark Atlas, MD; Melissa Rose, DO; Sawa Ito, MD, PhD; and Jay Youngclaus.

Front row (seated): Linda Burns, MD; Alice Ma, MD; Roy Smith, MD; Marc Kahn, MD, MBA; Jennifer Kesselheim, MD, Med; and Marc Zumberg, MD.

Recorded Sessions from the Meeting on Hematologic Malignancies Are Available

Order the 2016 ASH Meeting on Hematologic Malignancies Webcast, with more than 13 hours of exclusive educational content. The webcast provides access to 19 "How I Treat" sessions and eight panel discussions featuring top experts in hematologic malignancies. Each session features a video recording of the speaker along with his/her presentation slides. Go to to order.


Connect with us:

Mid-November 2022


Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal