Skip to Main Content

Advertisement intended for health care professionals

Skip Nav Destination

ASH Announces This Year’s Top Award Recipients

December 30, 2021

Each year, the Society recognizes outstanding hematologists who have made significant contributions to the field with the following Honorific Awards: Wallace H. Coulter Award for Lifetime Achievement in Hematology, Ernest Beutler Lecture and Prize, E. Donnall Thomas Lecture and Prize, Henry M. Stratton Medal, and the William Dameshek Prize. In addition, the ASH Mentor Award is given to two exceptional mentors to recognize the oft-overlooked role of mentors in shaping the hematology community.

This year's prizes were awarded to 10 outstanding hematologists who have made valuable contributions to the understanding and treatment of hematologic diseases. Read more about the winners below.

Wallace H. Coulter Award for Lifetime Achievement in Hematology
The Wallace H. Coulter Award for Lifetime Achievement in Hematology, the Society's highest honor, is named for the late Wallace Henry Coulter, a prolific inventor who made important contributions to hematology and to ASH.

Aaron Marcus, MD, of Weill Cornell Medical College in New York, who passed away in May 2015, will be honored for his groundbreaking research in hemostasis and thrombosis and his unwavering dedication to the field throughout his nearly 60-year career.

E. Donnall Thomas Lecture and Prize

This award, named after the late Nobel Prize Laureate and past president of ASH E. Donnall Thomas, MD, recognizes pioneering research achievements in hematology that have represented a paradigm shift or significant discovery in the field.

ASH will honor Barbara C. Furie, PhD, of Harvard Medical School, and Bruce Furie, MD, of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School, international leaders in hemostasis and thrombosis, with the 2015 E. Donnall Thomas Lecture for their groundbreaking research over the last 40 years. Drs. Barbara and Bruce Furie will present their lecture, "Thiol Isomerases as Potential Regulators Controlling the Initiation of Thrombus Formation," at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, December 7, at the 57th ASH Annual Meeting and Exposition.

Ernest Beutler Lecture and Prize
The Ernest Beutler Lecture, named for the late Ernest Beutler, MD, past president of ASH and physician-scientist for more than 50 years, is a two-part lectureship that recognizes major translational advances related to a single topic. The award honors two individuals, one who has enabled advances in basic science and another for achievements in clinical science or translational research.

Paul Richardson, MD, of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, are being honored for their significant research advances in the area of proteasome inhibitors and their development of novel therapies for multiple myeloma. Dr. Goldberg and Dr. Richardson will present their lecture, "Understanding the Proteasome: From Protein Degradation to Disease Therapy," at 1:30 p.m. on Monday, December 7, at the 57th ASH Annual Meeting and Exposition. The lecture will be moderated by Kenneth C. Anderson, MD, director of the Lebow Institute of Myeloma Therapeutics and Jerome Lipper Myeloma Center at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and a recognized world leader in the area of multiple myeloma.

William Dameshek Prize
This prize, named after the late William Dameshek, MD, a past president of ASH and the original editor of Blood, recognizes a recent outstanding contribution to the field of hematology.

John Byrd, MD, of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, is the recipient of this honorific award for his seminal contributions to translational research over the past 17 years that have yielded practice-changing therapies for patients with chronic lymphocytic leukemia.

Henry M. Stratton Medal for Basic Research and Clinical/Translational Research
The Henry M. Stratton Medal is named after the late Henry Maurice Stratton, co-founder of Grune and Stratton, the medical publishing house that first published ASH's journal Blood. The prize honors two senior investigators whose contributions to both basic and clinical/translational hematology research are well recognized and have taken place over a period of several years.

Nancy Speck, PhD, of the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine in Philadelphia, will be honored for her important contributions to basic hematology research and a better understanding of leukemogenesis over the past 30 years.

Karl Welte, MD, of Hannover Medical School in Hannover, Germany, will be awarded the Stratton Medal for outstanding achievement in his career-long pursuit of understanding neutrophil development and treatment.

ASH Mentor Award
Each year, the Society recognizes two outstanding mentors drawn from the areas of basic science, clinical investigation, education, or clinical/community care who have had a significant, positive impact on their mentees' careers and, through their mentees, have advanced research and patient care in the field of hematology.

Curt I. Civin, MD, of the University of Maryland School of Medicine, will be honored for his long-standing and consistent impact on the careers of mentees. Since opening his lab in the late 1970s, Dr. Civin has mentored 49 postdoctoral fellows and nine predoctoral students, many of whom have gone on to become leaders in pediatric oncology.

Craig S. Kitchens, MD, professor emeritus at the University of Florida College of Medicine, will be honored for helping to shape the careers of innumerable students, residents, fellows, and faculty for the past 40 years. Through his mentoring, Dr. Kitchens is well-recognized for placing significant value on work-life balance, personal connections, and the importance of professionalism and moral values in the practice of medicine.

Advertisement intended for health care professionals

Connect with us:

Mid-July 2024

Advertisement intended for health care professionals

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal

Advertisement intended for health care professionals