Skip to Main Content


Skip Nav Destination

The Votes Are In...ASH Announces Executive Committee Election Results

December 30, 2021

The Votes Are In…ASH Announces Executive Committee Election Results

On October 14, the American Society of Hematology announced the election of four new members to its Executive Committee for terms beginning after the 2014 ASH Annual Meeting, December 6-9 in San Francisco.

  • Kenneth C. Anderson, MD, will serve a one-year term as vice president, followed by successive terms as president-elect and president.
  • Susan B. Shurin, MD, will serve a four-year term as treasurer.
  • Mary C. Dinauer, MD, PhD, and Terry B. Gernsheimer, MD, will both serve four-year terms as councillors.

"The field of hematology is changing rapidly around us – from the way we educate trainees to the way we deliver care at the patient bedside. These changes present opportunities and challenges that must be met by visionary leadership," said ASH President Linda J. Burns, MD. "Drs. Anderson, Shurin, Dinauer, and Gernsheimer bring vast knowledge and diverse experience to address these opportunities and challenges, and we look forward to working with them to help further the Society's mission to conquer blood diseases worldwide." Learn more about the newly elected members below. 

Kenneth C. Anderson, MD: Dr. Anderson is Director of the Lebow Institute for Myeloma Therapeutics and the Jerome Lipper Myeloma Center at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston. He also serves as Kraft Family Professor of Medicine and Vice Chair of the Joint Program in Transfusion Medicine at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Anderson's major fields of interest include the biology and treatment of plasma cell disorders and transfusion. Outside of the laboratory, Dr. Anderson is interested in identifying new opportunities for mentorship and role models to attract the next generation into hematology, as well as strengthening international leadership to improve the care of patients with blood disorders across the world. During his more than 15 years of involvement in ASH, Dr. Anderson has served in a variety of Society volunteer roles. Currently, he serves as Executive Editor of Hematology (the ASH Education Program), and he served a fouryear term as an ASH councillor from 2010-2013.

Susan B. Shurin, MD: Dr. Shurin is Senior Adviser to the Center for Global Health of the National Cancer Institute at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in Bethesda, Maryland, working from San Diego. Her most recent NIH roles have included Deputy and Acting Director of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. Her fields of interest include non-malignant hematologic diseases, pediatric oncology, non-communicable diseases, and the biology and epidemiology of cardiovascular, pulmonary, and blood diseases. Dr. Shurin has previously served as a member of the ASH Committee on Government Relations and as faculty for the ASH Clinical Research Training Institute. 

Mary C. Dinauer, MD, PhD: Dr. Dinauer is the Fred M. Saigh Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Research and Professor of Pediatrics and of Pathology and Immunology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. She is also the Scientific Director at the Children's Discovery Institute of Washington University and St. Louis Children's Hospital. Dr. Dinauer's fields of interest include molecular mechanisms of innate immunity, inflammatory responses, and the development and function of white blood cells. Dr. Dinauer currently serves as an Associate Editor of Bloodand served as a Scientific Program Co-Chair of the 2011 ASH Annual Meeting.

Terry B. Gernsheimer, MD: Dr. Gernsheimer is Medical Director of the Platelet Immunology Laboratory at Puget Sound Blood Center, Medical Director of Transfusion at the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, and Assistant Medical Director of Clinical Transfusion Service at the University of Washington Medical Center. She also serves as Professor of Medicine in the Division of Hematology and Adjunct Professor of Laboratory Medicine at the University of Washington. Dr. Gernsheimer's major research interests include platelet immunology and immune platelet disorders, platelet transfusion and hemostasis in hematologic malignancies, and hemostasis and transfusion management of the perioperative patient. She currently serves on the ASH Committee on Practice.

Congratulations to the Newly Elected Institute of Medicine Members

On October 20, the Institute of Medicine (IOM) announced the names of 70 new members and 10 foreign associates during its 44th annual meeting – many of whom are leaders in the field of hematology/ oncology. These individuals were selected by current active members in recognition of their outstanding professional achievement, commitment to service, and dedication to advancing health and medicine. The Society would like to recognize two newly elected IOM members:

  • Margaret A. Shipp, MD, chief, division of hematologic neoplasia, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA
  • Todd R. Golub, MD, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; chief scientific officer, Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT; and Charles A. Dana Investigator, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Cambridge, MA

For the full list of newly elected IOM members, visit 

Former ASH President David Nathan Awarded Lifetime Impact Award

David G. Nathan, MD, president emeritus of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and physician-in-chief emeritus of Boston Children's Hospital, was honored as the inaugural recipient of the Boston Children's Hospital Lifetime Impact Award at the hospital's recent Annual Global Pediatric Innovation Summit, Taking on Tomorrow. In addition to his leadership at both Harvard teaching hospitals, Dr. Nathan, a former president of the American Society of Hematology, was a pioneer in pediatric hematology/oncology and was – and continues to be – a mentor to generations of leading clinicians and physician-scientist researchers. The Boston Children's award recognizes a clinician and/or researcher who has devoted his/her entire career to accelerating innovation in pediatric medicine, as well as to provide national and international recognition to an individual who has made extraordinary and sustained leadership contributions throughout their career to improve health care in the field of pediatrics.


Connect with us:

August 2022


Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal